The first-round matches of the T20 World Cup have started. Meanwhile, the Indian team will play its first match against Pakistan on October 24. India has not won the tournament in the past 14 years since winning the first World Cup in 2007. Let's take a look back today

West Indies Chris Gayle holds the record for most sixes in a T20 World Cup. Chris Gayle hit 60 sixes in 28 matches. Chris Gayle is the second-highest scorer with 920 runs.

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene holds the record for most runs scored in a T20 World Cup. He has scored 1016 runs in 31 matches.

Pakistan's Shahid Afridi holds the record for most wickets in a Twenty20 World Cup. Afridi has taken 39 wickets in 34 matches.

India's Mahendra Singh Dhoni holds the record for leading the team in most matches in the T20 World Cup. Dhoni has led India in 33 matches between 2007 and 2016.

Yuvraj Singh scripted history in the shortest format by smashing six sixes in an over against England in the first-ever T20I World Cup in 2007 in South Africa.

Darren Sammy who is an west indies cricketer specially known for his bowling 84 wickets in 38 matches.