Marathi | HIndi

Follow us:
Home > National > Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Round-up of Delhi constituencies
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Round-up of Delhi constituencies

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Round-up of Delhi constituencies

Here's the list of 10 assembly constituencies in Delhi
Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Round-up of Delhi constituencies

Okhla constituency: Amantullah Khan, the firebrand Muslim face of the Aam Aadmi Party, will be contesting from the Muslim-dominated Okhla constituency. The constituency is currently in the news as it includes Shaheen Bagh, the epicentre of the anti-CAA protests in Delhi. Khan, who is also the Delhi Waqf Board chairman, has had a controversial term as a legislator. Khan, who will be contesting his third Assembly election, won the 2015 election by a massive margin of over 64,000 votes.

Hari Nagar Assembly constituency: This constituency is an area of consisting of unplanned houses, big market areas, posh bungalows and DDA flats, will be voting on 8 February. The election for this constituency will be keenly watched because BJP has fielded Tajinder Pal Bagga known for his inflammatory speeches and controversial statements. The AAP, too, has changed its candidate this time, replacing Jagdeep Singh with Rajkumari Dhillon. The Congress has fielded locally known face, Surinder Setia.

Babarpur Assembly constituency: This constituency has elected BJP four of the five times between 1993 and 2013. However, things took a turn when AAP entered the fray. Senior AAP leader and Delhi Cabinet minister Gopal Rai represents the seat, which he won in 2015 after defeating the sitting BJP MLA Naresh Gaur by a margin of almost 36,000 votes. AAP, BJP, Congress, Bahujan Samaj Party, Shiromani Akali Dal are some of the major parties who will be contesting from this constituency. 

Laxmi Nagar Assembly constituency: This constituency is a part of the East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, is likely to see a three-way fight between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the BJP, and the Congress. The Laxmi Nagar Assembly constituency in East Delhi is currently held by AAP MLA Nitin Tyagi.

Shahdara Assembly constituency: Currently, the seat is with the Aam Aadmi Party. In the last election held in 2015, AAP candidate Ram Nivas Goel had won the seat. In 2013, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Jitendra Singh Shanty had won the seat. The BJP fielding a candidate in the seat it has traditionally left empty for its ally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), and the Congress trusting it's three-time MLA Narendra Nath. The ruling AAP has fielded sitting MLA Ram Niwas Goyal, while Sanjay Goyal will fight the election on BJP's ticket.

Ghonda Vidhan Sabha constituency: This constituency will see a three-cornered fight between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Congress, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The seat is currently held by Shri Dutt Sharma of the AAP, who has been fielded by the party for the upcoming election.

Karawal Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency: This constituency in the northeast region of Delhi, is going to be a closely followed fight with the seat being former Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Kapil Mishra's stronghold. AAP has fielded Durgesh Pathak, while the BJP and Congress have fielded Mohan Singh Bisht and Arbind Singh respectively. Bisht was fielded as the BJP's candidate in 2013 too, when he won by a margin of around 3,000 votes after a close fight with the AAP candidate. However, in the 2015 fresh election, Kapil Mishra, who was fielded as the AAP candidate, won an easy victory over Bisht. 
Rohtas Nagar Assembly constituency: This constituency is part of the predominantly rural North East Delhi district. It is one of the six seats in Delhi held by a woman MLA. AAP's Sarita Singh defeated sitting BJP MLA Jitender Mahajan in the 2015 Assembly elections.

Seemapuri Assembly constituency: This constituency, nestled at the northeastern corner of Delhi, is considered among the neglected parts of NCR. The area has been in the news over anti-Citizenship Amendment Act protests at a time when the Bharatiya Janata Party is harping up the issue to nationalise the political discourse ahead of polls. AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam is in the fray from the constituency this year on an AAP ticket, while the Congress too has fielded local heavyweight and its three-time MLA Dhingan. BJP has ceded the seat to its ally Lok Janshakti Party, who has fielded Sant Lal Chawariya in this reserved seat.

Krishna Nagar Assembly constituency: This constituency lies in the East Delhi district, once considered a BJP stronghold, is set to witness a fierce battle between the BJP, AAP and Congress. While the Congress has fielded former minister and four-time MLA Ashok Walia, the BJP has fielded Anil Goyal to take on sitting MLA and AAP candidate SK Bagga. 

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Round-up of Delhi constituencies
Fire on upper Assam river following oil leakage doused
People of BJP are real 'bhakts' of Mahatma Gandhi: Pralhad Joshi
Woman army major molested in Raj; Court orders reinvestigation ( Special)
Muzaffarpur shelter home: Court to pronounce order Feb 11
Coronavirus Live updates! Around the world