Marathi | HIndi

Follow us:
Home >Photos >Cricket>IPL 2020: How was the first over? Who scored the first run?
IPL 2020: How was the first over? Who scored the first run?

IPL 2020: How was the first over? Who scored the first run?

IPL 2020: The 13th season of IPL will start in a few hours after much speculation world's popular league will finally kick-off in UAE.
The history of IPL began on April 18, 2008. The first ball in Bangalore that day was bowled by RCB's Praveen Kumar to Kolkata Knight Riders' Sourav Ganguly and was followed by a leg bye. KKR then got two more runs in the same over.
The second season of IPL 2020 kicked off in Cape Town, South Africa on 18 April 2009. At that time, Sanath Jayasuriya scored a run for Mumbai Indians on the first ball. CSK's Manpreet Gony conceded three runs in the over.
The first over of the third IPL was bowled on March 12, 2010 wwhich as very sensational in Mumbai. Deccan Chargers' Chaminda Vaas forced KKR's Manish Tiwary to catch Rohit Sharma at midwicket off the first ball.
The first run of the 2011 IPL was scored on April 8, 2011 in Chennai on the second ball. Srikkanth Aniruddha of CSK scored the run after KKR left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdullah bowled the ball to mid-off. Murali Vijay hit a four off the fifth ball of the over.
On April 4, 2012, Lasith Malinga of Mumbai Indians bowled the first ball of the fifth IPL which was a wide. On the second ball, Faf du Plessis opened the scoring for CSK with three runs.
Like the third IPL, the sixth IPL also got off to a sensational start in 2013. KKR's Brett Lee bowled Delhi's Unmukt Chand off the first ball. After that Jayawardene and Warner hit few boundaries and the score remained at 9 for one at the end of the first over.
The first match of the 2014 IPL was played on April 16 in Abu Dhabi. Gautam Gambhir of KKR was tied up by a Zaheer Khan delivery. Gambhir could not score a single run in the full over.
The first overs of the 2015 IPL remained normal. On April 8, KKR's Umesh Yadav conceded four singles in the over in Kolkata. Mumbai's Rohit Sharma took the first run off the second ball.
In the first over of IPL 2016, Mumbai's Rohit Sharma scored 8 runs without loss with two fours. RP Singh of Rising Pune bowled the over in Mumbai. Lendl Simmons took a run off the first ball.
In the first over of 2017, Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 7 runs without loss with David Warner's crisp boundary, the over was bowled by RCB's Tymal Mills.
At the start of the 2018 season, Mumbai Indians' Rohit Sharma was beaten by Chennai's Deepak Chahar for three in a row. Rohit then answered with a thunderous four. At the end of the first over, Mumbai were 5 for no wicket.
IPL 2019 on March 23 last year in Chennai with a single off the first ball by RCB's Virat Kohli. Deepak Chahar of Chennai conceded five runs in the over.

Related Stories

Coronavirus Live updates! Around the world