The famous and delectable chocolate spread maker Nutella has said that its products are not halal putting an end to a lot of doubts of its customers. A user on Twitter asked the brand whether its products are halal. “No, they are not halal,” Nutella’s official Twitter handle responded. However, its announcement was met with the refusal of several Muslim consumers. Many tried to convince the brand that while it is not ‘halal certified’, it is still halal by default.
@NutellaUSA are your products halal— imjustsully #BLM (@imjustsully2) September 12, 2020
No, they are not halal.— Nutella (@NutellaUSA) September 13, 2020
The conversation went down and Twitter was ready to start a fight. Soon, the brand stepped in and cleared all the misunderstanding saying that most of their industrial plants are certified Halal ‘by a third party’. They apologized for the misleading tweet and laid out the facts. Nutella is a brand of sweetened hazelnut cocoa spread. Nutella is manufactured by the Italian company Ferrero and was first introduced in 1964, although its first iteration dates to 1963.
Nutella is absolutely halal, given that halal means "permissible," & there's nothing forbidden in the listed contents; it's just not halal certified. Nutella is still ok, promise.— Will Probably Die By Petting A Bear (@tsohgcinam) September 14, 2020
Nutella is suitable for vegetarians, however they can't officially declare it "Halal Certified" due to regulations and laws that prevents them more doing so. However, for future references for Fatwas please don't ask these companies opinions and refer to your local iman/scholar.— The Professor👨🏿🏫 (@ThePhenomenal66) September 14, 2020
Y’all, it’s fine. It may not be certified halal but it’s halal by definition. Just check the ingredients bc it could be different elsewhere. pic.twitter.com/Gh2RD8czcz— 𝔑𝔞𝔣𝔣𝔶 🖤🍒 (@nafology_) September 14, 2020
Ding dong you are wrong pic.twitter.com/chqWqi82oP— Dakota N. Weulf (@dakotaweulf) September 14, 2020
I think @NutellaUSA was trying to say it's not "Halal Certified" but this gave Muslims all over the world a heart attack. :p In fact, it wouldn't even need to be "Certified" since there's nothing potentially not Halal in the ingredients. Unless those hazelnuts are pork nuts. :p https://t.co/NTrSpDvetg— Mubin Shaikh (@MrMubinShaikh) September 14, 2020
I will eat nutella even if it had orphan tears as an ingredient https://t.co/Lltt3rZfFU— Ahmed Almansoori (@Hackmed804) September 14, 2020
This is a typical example of a company's social media account answering a question they don't have proper knowledge about. They could have said Nutella are not halal certified. I think companies in the UK are much more educated about halal labelling than the US. https://t.co/elpAG7ftT1— Mohammad Zaheer (@mzaheer88) September 14, 2020